Skip to main content

Launch for 'Morrigan's Curse' slated at Hockessin Book Shelf

Jan 10, 2016 01:58PM ● Published by J. Chambless

The Hockessin Book Shelf will be launching Dianne K. Salerni's third book in the Eighth Day series, called "Morrigan's Curse," on Jan. 30 at 4:30 p.m.

This is the author's fifth nationally published book, and the third by HarperCollins.   

Dianne K. Salerni is a graduate of St. Mark’s High School in Wilmington, Del., and attended the University of Delaware, where she earned her bachelor's degree in elementary education, and then went on to earn a master's in language arts education at the University of Pennsylvania.  She was a teacher in the Avon Grove School District for 25 years, where she taught fourth and fifth grade and has also written several books. Her books include "We Hear the Dead" and "The Caged Graves." She lives with her family in Chester County.

 "The Morrigan's Curse" is the third book in the Eighth Day series, which includes "The Eighth Day" and "The Inquisitor's Mark."  Adventure, action, and magic collide in the latest installment of the series that School Library Journal called "fast paced and exciting." In the third book of the series that VOYA recommends "for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter," the war over the Eighth Day continues and there's more at stake than ever before.

The battle between Kin and Transitioners that's been brewing for centuries has finally come to a head. The sinister Kin have captured Evangeline's younger sister, Addie,a descendant of Merlin whose presence will allow them to reverse the Eighth Day Spell and free themselves. Addie doesn't realize the full consequences of her cooperation. She's been helping the Kin because they value the strength of her magic something Evangeline never did. The feeling of power coursing through her veins is impossible to resist.

Meanwhile, Riley, Evangeline, and Jax craft a plan to rescue Addie from her captors. But the Kin's unstoppable magic, and a rebellious Addie, force Riley to reconsider whether saving Addie is worth sacrificing everyone who lives in the seven-day week. Jax won't let Evangeline's sister be used as a pawn, so he risks it all in a secret mission of his own. 

Salerni will be meeting visitors and signing books on Jan. 30 at The Hockessin Book Shelf (7179 Lancaster Pike, Hockessin, Del.). The event is free, and refreshments will be served. For more information,  call 302-235-7665.

 

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to Greenville & Hockessin Life's free newsletter to catch every headline

Today, News, Arts+Entertainment